Logan: Old is the new New

goods_012543_196337

To be completely honest, when I saw the first trailers for ‘Logan’, I was not really thrilled or excited to watch it. Part of that is due to the fact that the previous Wolverine stand-alone films were rubbish; the other part is that it kind of reminded me of “The Wrestler” with Mickey Rourke, you know, one of those ‘old guy can’t stop feeling sorry for himself’ films.

But, it was still widely labelled as a ‘superhero’ movie, and that meant it was one I had to cross off my checklist in my quest for the imaginary “Watched Every Superhero Movie” achievement badge. And I must say I left the cinema feeling glad with the decision. Rarely does any new movie actually spring any surprises on me anymore, but I must say I was not expecting Logan to be as good as it was. What was most surprising was how successful it was in putting a new spin on ‘superhero’ movies.

Logan down to its core is a story about two old guys who’ve been there, done that, but are both down to their last legs and staring down on death thinking to themselves: “Was it all worth it?” and “What have I really done with my life?”. Questions that many of us, even at younger ages, can relate to. As Logan and Xavier pass the days by throwing moody insults at each other, they stumble upon an opportunity for redemption, to accomplish something that could right all the wrong they have done in the past. Together they set out on one last adventure to set things right and to prove to no one but themselves that they had been right all along.

So this was one of the most emotional backstory and tension I’ve ever seen in a superhero movie. Much of the credit of course goes to brilliant performances by Hugh Jackman and Patrick Stewart, who both put on new levels of emotional performances to their characters we had not seen in prior installments of the franchise. From all I’ve said you’d think this movie belonged in the ‘Drama’ category. But the best part is, it was no less action-packed, violent and well-paced than the bigger Marvel superhero movies. In fact, they probably dialed up the violence knowing this was the last Wolverine movie we’ll be seeing for a while. Logan putting his claws through someone’s throat? Check. A little slicing off a grown thug’s head? Check. All in all I personally felt that action was more well-paced and choreographed than say in Avengers: Age of Ultron or Captain America: Civil War.

When was the last time you felt genuinely sad at the end of a superhero movie? Well, avoiding any spoilers here, Logan manages to pull some heartstrings at the end, not too much, but just enough to be impressive for a superhero movie. It was a well-written end to a 17-year run for Wolverine/Hugh Jackman, and his best bud in Charles Xavier/Patrick Stewart. It may be some years before we see a Wolverine reboot – it’ll be a tough task for whoever they choose to cast next. Hopefully they won’t take until the last installment of the series to get it right again.

VERDICT: If you’re looking for more than a ‘battle royale’ style all-out brawl among superpowered beings, then Logan is certainly worth a watch.

